Salzburger Advent Singing 2018 - "Silent Night"

In Salzburg’s Large ‘Festspielhaus’

200 years ago, the population around Salzburg suffered from poverty and hopelessness. A terrible war was slowly coming to an end. Salzburg lost its independence as a sacred and secular Prince Archbishopric, and sank into insignificance. The Rupertiwinkel region was incorporated into Bavaria and the rest was given to the Habsburgs. Oberndorf, the birthplace of "Silent Night! Holy Night!" was separated from its town of Laufen by the new border. And to top it all, the only connecting bridge over the Salzach River also collapsed. In this great misery, a handful of Oberndorfer jurors together with their families, experienced in the bitter cold of the 1818 Advent time, two miraculous events which would be discussed for a very long time...

This Salzburger Advent Singing is sensitively performed in the socio-cultural context of Oberndorf in the year 1818, and covers the events around Mary and Joseph with the annunciation of the Angel to Mary, from her visit to Elisabeth, via the arduous road to Bethlehem and onto the redeeming help of the shepherds. Such a seemingly terrible misfortune to befall these people on Christmas Eve, which could, however, only be averted by a miracle. A light of joy shines through the darkness of their existence. On the way to the midnight mass, they hear a wonderful, never heard before, delicate melody from the St. Nicholas Church: “Silent Night! Holy Night!” 

With this Salzburger Advent Singing, we want to offer a grateful reverence to Joseph Mohr and Franz Xaver Gruber. Their song of peace is a gift for the whole world. “Silent Night! Holy Night!” - This simple Salzburg Christmas Carol touches millions of people with its comforting message across both borders and time. It is sung in over 140 languages and is testimony to the great longing for love and peace by all people, who are of good will. With over 150 participants, with familiar songs and melodies from singers and musicians, with the exhilarating abandon of our Salzburg little shepherds, this Advent Singing delivers an impressively world-famous song which reminds us of that time.   

Hans Köhl, Overall Leadership

Performance dates 2018

First Advent Weekend

Fri. 30.11.2018      19:30   Premiere
Sat. 1.12.2018       14:00   Show
Sat. 1.12.2018       17:00   Show
Sun. 2.12.2018      14:00   Show
Sun. 2.12.2018      17:00   Show

Second Advent Weekend

Fri. 7.12.2018         19:30    Show
Sat. 8.12.2018        14:00    Show
Sat. 8.12.2018        17:00    Show
Sun. 9.12.2018       14:00    Show
Sun. 9.12.2018       17:00    Showng

Third Advent Weekend

Fri. 14.12.2018          19:30   Show
Sat. 15.12.2018         14:00   Show
Sat .15.12.2018         17:00   Show
Sun 16.12.2018         14:00   Show
Sun 16.12.2018         17:00   Show

How to find us

Ticket Service Salzburger Advent Singing
Salzburger Heimatwerk - Neue Residenz
A-5010 Salzburg, Residenzplatz 9

+43 (0)662 843 182
sbg.adventsingen@heimatwerk.at

Opening times:

Monday to Friday: 9.00 to 14.00

Route planning:

We use Cookies, to make your website visit as pleasant as possible. By using the website you agree.

Salzburger Adventsingen 2018 - „Stille Nacht“

Im Großen Festspielhaus zu Salzburg

Vor 200 Jahren war die Bevölkerung um Salzburg von Leid, Armut und Hoffnungslosigkeit geprägt. Ein fürchterlicher Krieg ging langsam seinem Ende entgegen. Salzburg verlor als geistliches und weltliches Fürsterzbistum seine Selbständigkeit und versank in Bedeutungslosigkeit. Der Rupertiwinkel kam zu Bayern, der Rest wurde den Habsburgern zugesprochen. Oberndorf, der Geburtsort von „Stille Nacht! Heilige Nacht!“ wurde von seiner Stadt Laufen durch die neue Landesgrenze abgetrennt. Zu allem Unglück stürzte die einzige Verbindungsbrücke über die Salzach auch noch ein. In diesem großen Elend erlebt ein Häuflein von Oberndorfer Schöffleuten mit ihren Familien in der bitteren Kälte des Advent 1818 zwei wundersame Ereignisse, über die noch lange gesprochen werden wird…

Bei diesem Salzburger Adventsingen werden die adventlichen Begebenheiten um Maria und Josef von der Verkündigung des Engels an Maria, von ihrem Besuch bei Elisabeth, vom beschwerlichen Weg nach Bethlehem bis hin zur erlösenden Hilfe der Hirten einfühlsam in einen soziokulturellen Kontext von Oberndorf im Jahr 1818 gestellt. Denn ausgerechnet am Heiligen Abend scheint ein fürchterliches Unglück über die Leute hereinzubrechen, dass jedoch wie durch ein Wunder abgewendet werden kann. Ein Licht der Freude erstrahlt über der Finsternis ihres Daseins. Am Weg zur Christmette vernehmen sie aus der Nikolauskirche eine wunderbare, noch nie gehörte, zarte Melodie: Stille Nacht! Heilige Nacht! 

Mit diesem Salzburger Adventsingen möchten wir Joseph Mohr und Franz Xaver Gruber eine dankbare Reverenz erweisen. Ihr Friedenslied ist ein Geschenk für die ganze Welt. Stille Nacht! Heilige Nacht! – dieses schlichte Salzburger Weihnachtslied berührt mit seiner tröstlichen Botschaft über Grenzen und Zeiten hinweg Millionen von Menschen. Es wird in mehr als 300 Sprachen gesungen und gibt Zeugnis von der großen Sehnsucht nach Liebe und Frieden aller Menschen, die guten Willens sind. Mit über 150 Mitwirkenden, mit vertrauten Liedern und Weisen von Sängern und Musikanten, mit der herzerfrischenden Unbekümmertheit unserer Salzburger Hirtenkinder wird ein Adventsingen erlebbar, das eindrucksvoll an die Entstehungszeit dieses weltberühmten Liedes erinnert.   

Hans Köhl, Gesamtleitung

Aufführungstermine 2018!

Erstes Adventwochenende

Fr   30.11.2018   19.30 Uhr     Premiere
Sa  1.12.2018     14.00 Uhr     Vorstellung
Sa  1.12.2018     17.00 Uhr     Vorstellung
So  2.12.2018     14.00 Uhr     Vorstellung
So  2.12.2018     17.00 Uhr     Vorstellung

Zweites Adventwochenende

Fr   7.12.2018   19.30 Uhr   Vorstellung
Sa  8.12.2018   14.00 Uhr   Vorstellung
Sa  8.12.2018   17.00 Uhr   Vorstellung
So  9.12.2018   14.00 Uhr   Vorstellung
So  9.12.2018   17.00 Uhr   Vorstellung

Drittes Adventwochenende

Fr   14.12.2018    19.30 Uhr     Vorstellung
Sa  15.12.2018    14.00 Uhr     Vorstellung
Sa  15.12.2018    17.00 Uhr     Vorstellung
So  16.12.2018    14.00 Uhr     Vorstellung
So  16.12.2018    17.00 Uhr     Vorstellung

So finden Sie uns

Ticketservice Salzburger Adventsingen
Salzburger Heimatwerk - Neue Residenz
A-5010 Salzburg, Residenzplatz 9

+43 (0)662 843 182
sbg.adventsingen@heimatwerk.at

Öffnungszeiten:

Montag bis Freitag: 9.00 bis 14.00 Uhr

Routen planen:

Wir verwenden Cookies, um Ihren Website-Besuch für Sie so angenehm wie möglich zu gestalten. Mit der Nutzung der Website erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden.